PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor

Are You Ready To Make The Best Career Change?

The Greatest Career Choice You Can Make: Taking the PADI Instructor Course with Jack's Diving Locker

Become a scuba instructor in tropical paradise with the friendly and knowledgeable staff at Jack’s Diving Locker in Kona, Hawaii.  The Instructor Development Course (IDC) is the training program you need to prepare for a career filled with adventure and fun!  Jack’s Diving Locker is a PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort with ample classroom space, custom-built scuba training pool, and access to premier open water training sites.

During the IDC, candidates work on knowledge development, confined water skills, and open water skills to prepare for the Instructor Examination (IE), a test administered by a PADI examiner.  Upon successful completion of the IDC and IE, the candidate will be certified as a PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor – a leader in diving education who teaches a variety of PADI scuba certification courses from beginners to advanced levels.

Call to make your reservations
IDC Details

  • Total cost $3,500

    • Progressive discount of $100 applied per additional student enrolled in your course. 

  • We Provide

    • ALL PADI IDC Materials! (A $1,500 value!)

    • PADI IDC eLearning

    • PADI IDC Crew Pak

    • PADI Student Course Manual (Digital)

    • Tanks and Weights Complimentary Gear Storage

    • On-site Pool and Classroom

    • Transportation to and from open water dive training sites

    • Transportation to and from the PADI Instructor Exam

  • Fees you pay directly to PADI:

    • Instructor Examination fee

    • Instructor application fee

  • Prerequisites

    • 18 years old or older

    • Medical Statement signed by a Physician within the past 12 months

    • 100 logged dives

    • Open Water, Advanced, and Rescue, and Divemaster certifications or equivalent

    • Emergency First Response (EFR) Instructor (or equivalent)

    • DAN Insurance

  • Registration:

    • To register, please call our shop at 1-800-345-4807 or (808) 329-7585 or stop by our shop in Kailua-Kona in the Coconut Grove Marketplace on Ali’i Drive.

    • We will arrange an orientation session for you.

    • Valid credit card number required with reservation and $350 non-refundable deposit required with reservation.

    • Final payment due 30 days prior to course start date.

    • 30 day cancellation policy.  Any cancellations made less than 30 days prior to the start of the course will result in a full charge.

    • Register for PADI eLearning by contacting pro@jacksdivinglocker.com

Contact Information:
For more information or to sign up for the course, please contact Course Directors, Shannon Shea or David Pinilla at Jack’s Diving Locker at 808-329-7585 or e-mail pro@jacksdivinglocker.com.

IDC Schedule:

We offer 2 schedules:   

  • "Classic" - For individuals coming to Hawaii specifically to do the IDC or taking time off to do so - this schedule is consecutive days. 

  • "Extended" - For individuals who live here on the Big Island and want a largely weekend class to be able to do along with school/work - this may be the option for you!  

Call to make your reservations

  Start Date Course Type Places Available  
04 Feb 2021 PADI Instructor-Classic 8

IDC - Day 1
Thu 04 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Fri 05 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 06 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 07 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Mon 08 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Wed 10 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Thu 11 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Fri 12 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 13 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 14 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

15 Feb 2021 EFR: Instructor 8

EFRI
Mon 15 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

17 Feb 2021 PADI IE 8

IE-Day 1
Wed 17 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 2
Thu 18 Feb 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

13 Mar 2021 PADI Instructor-Extended 8

IDC - Day 1
Sat 13 Mar 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Sun 14 Mar 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 20 Mar 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 21 Mar 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Sat 27 Mar 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Sun 28 Mar 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Sat 03 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Sun 04 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 10 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 11 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

01 Apr 2021 PADI Instructor-Classic 8

IDC - Day 1
Thu 01 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Fri 02 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 03 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 04 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Mon 05 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Wed 07 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Thu 08 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Fri 09 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 10 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 11 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

12 Apr 2021 EFR: Instructor 8

EFRI
Mon 12 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

14 Apr 2021 PADI IE 8

IE-Day 1
Wed 14 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 2
Thu 15 Apr 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

14 Aug 2021 PADI Instructor-Extended 8

IDC - Day 1
Sat 14 Aug 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Sun 15 Aug 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 21 Aug 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 22 Aug 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Sat 28 Aug 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Sun 29 Aug 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Sat 04 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Sun 05 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 11 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 12 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

02 Sep 2021 PADI Instructor-Classic 8

IDC - Day 1
Thu 02 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Fri 03 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 04 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 05 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Mon 06 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Wed 08 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Thu 09 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Fri 10 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 11 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 12 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

13 Sep 2021 EFR: Instructor 8

EFRI
Mon 13 Sep 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info